Recent Read: Scrappy Little Nobody

Very rarely do I want to be best friends with a celebrity.

But there is one exception: Anna Kendrick.

Kendrick’s witty Twitter account has been one I’ve followed for years and when I heard she was writing an essay collection, I couldn’t wait to read it.

Scrappy Little Nobody honestly feels like you’re having a chat with a best friend, not reading a celebrity’s memoir style essay.

scrappylittlenobody

From Goodreads page

With essays entitled “Hell thy name is middle school” and “Boys and the terror of being near them,” how could you not love it?

Kendrick describes her life before and after hitting it big on Broadway (losing a Tony to Audra McDonald) and on the silver screen (being nominated for an Oscar for Up in the Air). Her life really hasn’t changed much.

She has worked with some of the biggest stars in Hollywood (George Clooney and Ben Affleck) and in indie films. She hasn’t lost touch with her roots and she doesn’t necessarily enjoy her fame.

I absoultely tore through Scrappy Little Nobody. I laughed at it and I identified with Anna Kendrick on so many levels. I felt like she really understood me, or I really understood her.

This was the perfect book to take to the pool and relax with while catching a few rays of sunshine. I would highly recommend this book (and many of Kendrick’s movies as well!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

