Recent Read: Truly Madly Guilty

About an hour ago, I finished Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty, so I’m writing this review really fresh.

I had read two other books by Moriarty (The Husband’s Secret and Big Little Lies) in the past and thoroughly enjoyed both of them. Moriarty’s style with a twist at the end if something I truly enjoy.

trulymadlyguilty

From Goodreads page

With that being said, I have to say I wasn’t as impressed with Truly Madly Guilty. I was almost — for lack of a better word — bored with it.

Truly Madly Guilty focuses on the events immediately before, during and after a barbeque at a home in Sydney. Three couples and three children are enjoying a nice meal and some fun when the unthinkable happens: one of the children nearly drowns.

This near drowning, which isn’t unveiled until about halfway through the book, is the catalyst for a lot of discussion. Was it an accident, was the child pushed, who is at fault, is anyone at fault?

There are subplots galore, another hallmark of Moriarty’s writing style. Erika’s mom is a hoarder. Clementine and Erika have an incredibly complex friendship that is starting to unravel. Oliver and Erika want a baby, or do they? Sam and Clementine are struggling in their marriage while Clementine struggles to prepare for an important audition. Vid and Tiffany are trying to figure out parenthood and how to help their daughter, Dakota.

The “twist” at the end really didn’t shock me. I had kind of suspected something had happened. I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to feel shocked even. It almost felt like Moriarty had gotten tired of writing the book and said, OK, here’s an ending. I’m done now…

I was really disappointed in Truly Madly Guilty. I wanted it to be better and live up to the other books by Moriarty that I’ve read. I intend to read The Hypnotist’s Love Story in the future as well. But this book was not her finest work.

Leave a Reply

