Recent Read: Career of Evil

At last, I have finished another book. With life being crazy and work being hectic, my reading speed is considerably slower than it used to be.

But…. with great fanfare… I announce that I finished Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling’s Career of Evil!

I really enjoy Rowling’s mystery writings. Her style is fast paced and she leaves bread crumbs of clues that only the best mystery solvers can follow.

careerofevil

From Goodreads page

When I got to the end of Career of Evil, I had a few theories as to who the serial killer might have been. But, I audibly gasped when the final reveal was made. The clues had been there the whole time, however, I did not have the wherewithal to put them together in the way Cormoran Strike had.

One of the things I really enjoyed about Career of Evil compared to the previous two Strike mysteries was the backstory readers were given about Strike and Robin and their lives prior to working together.

Particularly with Robin, I was fascinated to learn about her life and see her react to different circumstances in her life. Instead of seeing her as a prissy, female detective, I began to see her as a strong, independent woman who was searching for herself.

I am curious to see how things go in the fourth installment. When we left things, Robin was in the middle of her wedding and she was, in theory, without a job. But with Strike bursting in at the last second, what does that mean?

I would highly recommend these mysteries to all lovers of the genre. They are well crafted, beautifully written and will keep you guessing until the final page.

Leave a Reply

