Recent Read: Wild

OK. So, I have to say that I never really wanted to read Wild. But… then I watched Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life.

I was going through some things in my life and was trying to relocate myself. Wild seemed to help Lorelai, so I thought, why not?

12262741

From Goodreads page

There came a point when I was reading Wild where that question changed to just why?

While Cheryl Strayed was certainly brave for taking on the Pacific Crest Trail on her own and her writing about it is easy to read and enjoyable, Wild didn’t have some sort of magical effect on me.

It didn’t help give me clarity or help me find myself or inspire me to go on a journey of self-discovery. It did, however, make me realize that I never want to go hiking for long distances of time. I like my toenails too much. And my personal hygiene.

As someone who is around the same age as Strayed was when she did her hike, I may simply be too young to grasp the true potential for self-help in Wild. And I’m OK with that.

I thoroughly enjoyed her writing style and her honesty about the experience. She didn’t try to beg for pity in how horrible circumstances got or sugarcoat it. She told it like it was, good, bad and otherwise.

I’m looking forward to reading Tiny, Beautiful Things because I think Strayed’s version of honesty might work better for me in that sort of context.

Leave a Reply

