Recent Read: The Ex

Ex-boyfriends often come with baggage, but nothing like the luggage set Olivia Randall is carrying with regard to her ex, Jack Harris.

So, when Jack’s daughter calls Olivia to help her dad out of a legal situation involving multiple dead bodies, Olivia thinks she can help because she knows her ex isn’t capable of this act.

Or is he?

Thus, the premise for Alafair Burke’s The Ex.

Jack is accused of killing three people in a semi-public place. One of those people: the father of the teenager who killed his wife in a mass shooting several years earlier.

theex

From Goodreads page

I had no idea what to expect with this book. I had never read anything by Burke before, but The Ex had gotten good reviews and the narrative sounded interesting.

The connections between the characters in this book is fascinating. The web Burke weaves is complex and twisting at every turn. The characters themselves have secrets and flaws.

About 2/3 of the way through this book, I thought I had figured out the entire plot. I knew what the connection was and who did it and why. Burke’s writing pushed me off this plot, however, and made me believe that I was wrong in jumping to my weird and twisted conclusion.

And then, at the end of the book, Burke took me right back there. I had been right about the plot point all along.

As far as thrillers go, The Ex is a relatively quick read with a fast-moving plot and characters you can root for. Despite her flaws, I found myself rooting for Olivia as a defense attorney. I wanted her to get the win, even when she wasn’t sure she wanted it.

I would recommend The Ex for mystery and thriller readers who liked books by Gillian Flynn, Karin Slaughter or Iris Johansen.

 

Leave a Reply

