Recent Read: Voyager

It took me two full months, but I finally finished Voyager, the third book in Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series.

In my defense, Gabaldon’s books are massive (my copy of Voyager was more than 1,000 pages long) and full of characters, action and history to digest.

voyager

From Goodreads page

Throw in an absolutely crazy month at work where my reading time was cut because I was so tired when I got home from work…. And it took me two months.

But it was so worth it to keep reading.

Voyager picks up where Dragonfly in Amber, the second book in the series, leaves off: Claire (living in 1968) discovers that Jamie (living in the 1760s) is alive. He survived the Battle of Culloden and is likely living in Scotland.

So, does Claire leave her daughter behind to try and reunite with her love? Or does she stay to be a mother to the pair’s daughter?

And that’s only the drama from the first quarter of the book….

As you voyage through the pages of Voyager, you follow Jamie and Claire as they search for each other and for another relative. Their journey takes them from Scotland, to the high seas, to the Caribbean and ultimately the American colonies.

Unlike Outlander and Dragonfly in Amber, I felt like the action in Voyager dragged in more spots. There was much more exposition that I didn’t understand as I was reading it and was confused as to why I should care.

The ends all end up tying nicely at the end of the plot of this book and characters from the past resurface.

Gabaldon’s writing and characters make even a massive tome relatively easy to follow and definitely easy to enjoy.

Claire and Jamie are flawed characters but their relationship is easy to root for. You want these two to find their way back to each other in the end.

If you haven’t started the Outlander series, I’d highly encourage it. (I’d also recommend the Starz series based on the books. There are two seasons now (based on books 1 and 2) and season 3 is in the works right now.)

And if you don’t believe me, believe the readers on Goodreads. Voyager has an average rating of nearly 4.4 stars (out of 5). The first two books in the series, and the following five, all have ratings above 4 stars.

Leave a Reply

