Wednesday Wanna-Read: Working on Me

Just a heads-up. This post is going to be a little personal.

My Wednesday wanna-read this week isn’t necessarily about one book (though I will reference one). It’s about a whole genre of books.

Like many people, I struggle with self-esteem and self-confidence. When I was going through middle school, junior high and high school, I was bullied and teased about just about everything in my life. I was tall and awkward, couldn’t fit into the “cool clothes” because of my height/body type and I was athletic and into sports.

The issues brought on by those bullies and the hurtful words still resonate with me today. I struggle with my weight, despite working out and eating healthy, and I work in a profession where my integrity and my status as a “good person” are attacked on a regular basis by strangers who are sitting behind a keyboard.

There comes a point where all of this boils over and you realize you are drowning. In a metaphorical sea of negative thoughts and self-image, you realize you can’t find your way back to the surface on your own anymore and you start clambering for the life jacket.

For me, I’ve found a life jacket in a few ways. I have people I can talk to (thankfully) who are helping me. And I’ve found that reading books is helpful too.

While no book can be uniquely tailored to what is going on in my life and in my particular situation, there are books out there that can help me realize I’m not the only person in the world dealing with these issues.

self-esteem

From Goodreads page

I have bought several of these books and borrowed others my local library. These titles include the Self-Esteem Workbook by Glenn Schiraldi, Single by Judy Ford, 20-Something, 20-Everything by Christine Hassler and Dear Sugar by Cheryl Strayed.

I have not been a huge fan of “self-help” books to this point in my life, but what I’ve been doing hasn’t been working. Maybe having some literary backing will help me figure out a better way to cope with the things I’ve been holding inside for so long.

If you’re dealing with self-esteem, self-confidence, body image issues or something else, remember you’re not alone. I speak from experience when I say it is hard to remember that sometimes. I know there are moments when you feel like you’re on an island and the water level is rising on the shore.

And reading a book about it isn’t for everyone. But since I’m a reader, I’m hopeful it will be at least somewhat helpful to me.

Leave a Reply

