Recent Read: How to be Single

Based on the trailers for the movie “How to be Single,” I thought I knew what Liz Tucillo’s book was about.

I was wrong — to an extent. At least, I think I am. I haven’t seen the movie yet.

howtobesingle

From Goodreads page

Tuccillo’s book, also titled “How to be Single,” is the story of five New York women in their 30s, all of whom are single (arriving there in different ways).

Julie, the main character, brings these women together and creates this group. Julie’s friend, Georgia, is newly single after her husband left her. Georgia wants to go out. Julie gathers her friends.

After realizing she is bored at her job and wants a new adventure, Julie decides to travel the world. Her goal is to research how women are single around the world and how they adapt to that fact. Essentially her thesis is: Are women around the world as upset about being single as American women seem to be?

On her journey, Julie falls in love and gets her heart broken. (The pitfall of falling in love with a married man…)

While she’s gallivanting around the world, her friends are struggling at home with their singledom and trying to find ways to cope on their own.

There were certainly parts of this book I found questionable (i.e. the whole falling in love with a married man thing, the generalizations of how single women behave), but I did enjoy this book.

Tuccillo’s writing is funny and she uses wit well. There were moments where I found myself nodding my head and saying, “yep, I’ve been there.” Granted, I’m only in my 20s, so I don’t necessarily feel as “desperate” as the characters in the book do, but I get the feeling of being single.

I also appreciated that the happy ending Tuccillo writes involves the women being single and appreciating that. Each chapter is titled with a “rule” for being single and the final one is Believe in Miracles. While Tuccillo’s characters are single and accepting of that, they’re also hopeful for what the future may hold.

And that, I feel, is a good lesson for single women everywhere to learn.

Leave a Reply

