Recent Read: As Night Falls

It’s taken me a while, but I finally have another recently read book I can post about.

Circumstances in my life have kept me from reading as much as I would have preferred over these last few weeks, but I’m looking to remedy that soon.

asnightfallsLast night, I finished Jenny Milchman’s As Night Falls. Billed as a must-read for fans of Gillian Flynn and thriller lovers, I had to pick it up.

It was definitely worth reading.

Milchman’s novel focuses on Sandy Tremont. Sandy lives with her husband, Ben, and her daughter, Ivy, in a nice house in the middle of the woods in New England.

As the first snow of the season starts to fall one night, Sandy thinks her biggest problem is the growing distance between herself and Ivy, who is a teenager and acting like a teenager daughter might.

Little does she know that Nick and Harlan, two convicts escaped from a nearby prison, are on their way to her home… seemingly at random.

I don’t want to give too much away, but I will say it may not be so random after all.

The rest of the book follows the events of one night.

Some of the events happen in a split second. Milchman makes you think the action is headed one way and then–boom–something different happens. Just like it would happen in the heads of the characters. The abrubtness of it adds to the drama.

Fair warning: there is a LOT of violence in this book, especially compared to other thrillers I have read.

While there were some portions of the book that are fairly easy to guess, it doesn’t deprive from the enjoyability of this thriller.

For fans of the genre, this is a quick read to add to your collection.

Leave a Reply

