Recent Read: Dragonfly in Amber

I recently finished the second book in the Outlander series and it took me several days to finally come up with the words to describe it in this post.

Amazing. Beautifully written. Thrilling.

I started reading this book in November and it took me two months, but I finally got through it. I’m really glad I did.

Dragonfly in Amber is the second book in Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. The book begins with Claire Randall 20 years after she has returned back through the rock circle at Craigh na Dun. She has returned to Scotland with her daughter, Brianna, to finally tell her the truth about her father.

dragonflyinamber

From Goodreads page

Seeking help from Roger Wakefield, who plays a much larger role than I had anticipated (shocking twist at the end!), Claire seeks information on what happened to the men she knew and loved in her “other life.”

After about 100 pages, the story shifts back in time to the 18th century, when Claire met and married the aforementioned father, Jaime Fraser. This portion of the plot picks up right where Outlander left off.

Claire and Jaime are in Paris, trying to stop the failed rebellion that will ultimately lead to the deaths of many Scots, including possibly Jaime.

The story follows life in Paris and the Frasers as they come back to Scotland, through the first stages of the rebellion.

Gabaldon captures the true essence of human relationships and emotions in her books. The relationship between Claire and Jaime reads as genuine and honest, with fights and heartache and grief and joy all playing a role.

I don’t normally cry at books, but there was one particular scene toward the end of Dragonfly which made me lose it.

The “final” goodbye between Jaime and Claire is so powerfully written and captures the ups and downs of the moment between this pair. It was just beautiful. I felt like I was Claire, trying to muster the courage and strength to leave the man I love as he goes to what is most likely his death.

The ending of the book provided a few new twists as well. Roger Wakefield, as I alluded to earlier, takes on a much larger role in the plot as a whole. And the last few pages drop a major plot twist that opens the door for the next book, Voyager.

I really enjoy this series and have recommended it to several people. I know the premise sounds cheesy when you say it out loud, but the writing and the characters (who are very richly developed) make this a story worth reading.

Leave a Reply

