Book Club Dilemmas

Has your book club ever picked a book that is truly awful?

How about when you are the person who picked the book or the person responsible for the discussion?

I’m currently dealing with this issue right now. I’m working my through the book I picked for the book club my newspaper and local library are collaborating on. I’m responsible for leading the discussion.

The only problem is I really don’t like the book. We’re reading Olive Kittredge by Elizabeth Strout. I’ve found Cliff Notes-esque chapter summaries, so I can skim chapters a little better. My mom got the mini-series on DVD so I can watch that instead of reading.

But I’m not sure that’s better.

How have you overcome a bad book choice with your book clubs? Do you have any go to methods for not finishing the book but still managing to make the discussion work?

Leave a Reply

