Monday Must-Read: Best of 2015

As we near the end of 2015, many websites and blogs are putting together their lists for the best of the year.

In that spirit, I decided to come up with a list of the books I read in 2015 that I would classify as “must-reads.”

In no particular order:

  • The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon

If you have not started reading The Bone Season series yet, you’re sorely missing out. This is your fair warning about the book series you’ll be obsessed with in the near future.

mime order

From Goodreads page

  • The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson

This psychological thriller is intense and full of plot twists. The twist at the end was one I absolutely didn’t see coming and left me wanting more. Overshadowed by other thrillers this year, I’d pick Swanson’s book as the one I would read again.

  • Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin
blackeyedsusans

From Goodreads page

Speaking of overshadowed thrillers, this is definitely one. I thought I had this book figured out a couple of times, only to be proven wrong by another of Heaberlin’s plot twists. You really should read this book.

  • Missoula by Jon Krakauer

In the category of must-read non-fiction, Krakauer’s book is the one you should pick. This work on the issue of rape on college campuses and in small towns and communities is an absolute have to read if we ever want to create societal change on the issue.

  • Sea Change by Karen White

This book. I don’t even know where to begin. I honestly picked it up at the library because the cover was pretty and then I read the blurb and it sounded good. Good is an understatement. This book is beautifully written and constructed with a fascinating and unique plot. I would absolutely read this book again.

  • Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Outlander has been a cult favorite for nearly two decades (yes, it was originally released in the 1990s), but has reached new heights of fandom with the release of the series based on the books on Starz. (The series has received several Golden Globe nominations.)

outlander

From Goodreads page

A period romance mixed with a bit of fantasy and a lot of historical fiction, Outlander is one of those books that sounds like you won’t like it, but is written so well, you forget how cliche the plot sounds.

(I’m currently reading the second book in the series and continue to be impressed with Gabaldon’s writing style.)

I hope you read some good books this year too! Leave me your best suggestions from your 2015 book lists in the comments and maybe I’ll get to read them in 2016!

Leave a Reply

