Recent Read: I Didn’t Come Here to Make Friends

I feel like I have to clarify before I begin this review: I am not a crazy fan of The Bachelor.

By that, I mean I don’t host watch parties. And I pretty much only watch the first episode to see all the weird entrances and the last episode to see if I agree with the happy ending that in all statistical probability won’t last very long.

robertson

From Goodreads page

I didn’t even watch Courtney Robertson and Ben Flajnik’s season, which is why I surprised myself by picking this book up.

Robertson wrote I Didn’t Come Here to Make Friends as a bit of a memoir of her life, but mostly as a play-by-play of her time on The Bachelor and the year afterwards she was engaged to Flajnik before it all came tumbling down.

In the process, Robertson has probably planted herself firmly outside the legions of Bachelor Nation since she doesn’t hold back about the process at all.

While everything is “real” on the show, it seemed like a lot of it was actually scripted. Her infamous skinny-dip with Flajnik: yea, she had to get permission from producers to ‘spontaneously’ show up outside Flajnik’s suite.

And her happily ever after doesn’t sound so happy. She described never really living with her fiance, who ended up being quite controlling and needy and a lot of other things.

However, I wouldn’t be surprised to see Robertson land on her feet. She describes having hook-ups in her pre-Bachelor days with Jesse Metcalfe and Adrian Grenier.

One thing I did find interesting was Robertson’s message to Bachelor haters about the success of the show’s couples. (Let’s be honest: for every Sean and Catherine/Trista and Ryan, there’s a few Jake and Viennas.)

She said that the success rate of the show is about on par with couples in real life. Only a small portion of couplings in real life actually go on to be successful. Which, if you think about, is true. On average, a woman or man probably dates 2-4 people seriously (meaning any relationship lasting a few months or longer) before they get married. So, having about 1/3 of relationships on The Bachelor work out is about par for the course.

Granted, these relationships would probably fare a little better if there weren’t paparazzi following the couples around looking for any sign that things aren’t what they seem… but ya know, you can’t have everything be perfect and easy.

Overall, I found this book really easy and quick to read. It was funny and charming and I actually ended up feeling a little bit of sympathy toward Robertson.

I think this book is a great read for any serious or casual fan of reality TV.

Leave a Reply

