Recent Read: The Husband’s Secret

What if you were carrying the weight of a secret that could change the course of your family’s future and would change the lives of many others?

This is the burden Cecilia Fitzpatrick carries in Liane Moriarty’s The Husband’s Secret.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

Cecilia is one of the main characters in this book which also focuses on Cecilia’s husband Jean-Paul, Rachel–the secretary at the Fitzpatrick children’s school and Tess–a former resident of the district who moves back with her son after she finds out about her husband’s own secret.

Moriarty weaves together the stories of these women in flashbacks to a tragic event in 1984 that is a catalyst for many of the events in the present day portion of the novel.

Cecilia finds a letter written by her husband, to be opened upon his death. As a curious woman, and after Jean-Paul acts suspiciously about the letter, Cecilia reads it to find a horrible secret inside.

After some tragedy of her own, Cecilia finally decides what to do with the information in the letter. And the choice may surprise you.

In Cecilia’s shoes, I’m not sure what decision I would have made. I would like to think that I would make the right, moral decision, but would I really? With my back against the wall and my family and the life I’d built for myself on the line, could I make that call?

While Moriarty had published before and had success, this book really put her on the map globally. Everywhere I went in 2013, I saw someone reading this book.

The target audience is likely a little bit older than me (I’m in my mid-20s and the main characters are all in their late 30s-40s and older), but I really enjoyed the book anyways. Moriarty’s writing is really easy to read and flows naturally.

Her creation of characters with flaws is also refreshing. The flaws aren’t overwhelming to the point that all we remember about the character is the flaw, but the flaws help define the character’s actions and move the plot forward.

I would recommend Moriarty’s work as a nice breath of fresh air and an easy fiction read.

Leave a Reply

