Recent Read: Someday, Someday, Maybe

My most recent read is by an author who’s also an actress, and in my opinion, she excelled at both.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

Lauren Graham is probably best known for her role as Lorelai Gilmore on Gilmore Girls. She’s also been on Parenthood and in several movies (as well as a memorable guest stint on Law and Order).

Her debut novel, Someday, Someday, Maybe, is modeled in part on her life. The main character, Franny, is struggling to make it as an actress in New York City in the mid-1990s. Franny sets herself a goal of six months to make it or move on.

In the midst of her trials and tribulations, she finds an agent, loses an agent, gets a boyfriend, discovers boyfriend may not be all that interested in her, etc. You know, the typical plights of every aspiring actress.

While this is definitely not the best book I’ve ever read, it read quickly and easily. It was smooth and flowed and I could read Lorelai Gilmore in Franny’s dialogue. I saw Lauren Graham living this story. Her personality shines through in her writing, as well as her wit.

The turning point for me in this novel was a comment by Franny that she felt at a point like everyone around her had the answers to a test she never knew she could get. The exact quote is: “I just can’t shake this feeling that there’s something I’m doing wrong, or something I’m not doing right–either way, there’s a trick I haven’t learned, a secret that other people know that I don’t.”

I’ve felt this way so many times in my life and I could never articulate exactly what it is I was feeling. This quote gets it so, so right.

Lauren Graham is one of my favorite actresses because she plays smart, caring characters that have more to them than their cup size. She really stands by the complex characters and I’m appreciative of that. (Also, I love Gilmore Girls because I’m basically Rory and I just love the show in general. Amy Sherman-Palladino is one of my heroes for creating this show.)

This is a good palate-cleansing type book that doesn’t take a ton of thought, but won’t bore you either.

Leave a Reply

