Weekend Words

I’m starting a new regular post on the site this week: Weekend Words.

My hope is the posts will reflect what I intend to read over the weekend and the coming week. I also hope these posts will encourage me to read a little more quickly and advance my reading list a little bit faster.

With that being said:

This weekend, I am reading Lauren Graham’s Someday, Someday, Maybe.

I’ve been a fan of Graham’s since the first scene of Gilmore Girls I ever saw. Four chapters into this book and I’m reading it in Lorelai’s voice. Some of Graham’s sense of humor is clearly present in her main character, Franny.

Franny is a struggling actress who has given herself a timeline. Six months to find an acting job or find another career.

That’s about all I know at this point. But the writing is solid, witty and moves quickly.

This book is a nice way to break up some of my more intense reads.

I’m also hoping to start the next book for my book club: Friday Night Lights by H.G. Bissinger. This book, which celebrates its 25th year of publication in 2015, focuses on football in Odessa, Texas.

I’m excited to see how this story goes. I’ve seen the movie the book was made into (starring Billy Bob Thornton and Tim McGraw) and I’ve heard a lot of good things about the TV show that loosely was based on the book.

What are you reading this weekend?

Leave a Reply

