Wednesday Wanna-Read: Love and Miss Communication

My Wednesday wanna-read pick for this week has been featured on NPR and HuffPost Live. It has also been named a must-read by Cosmopolitan and named a book club pick by Glamour and InStyle magazines.

Elyssa Friedland’s debut novel, Love and Miss Communication, focuses on Evie, who is a typical working woman. She’s connected at the hip to her smartphone.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads: “Evie Rosen has had enough. She’s tired of the partners at her law firm e-mailing her at all hours of the night. The thought of another online date makes her break out in a cold sweat. She’s over the clever hashtags and the endless selfies. So when her career hits a surprising roadblock and her heart is crushed by Facebook, Evie decides it’s time to put down her smartphone for good.

“And that’s when she discovers a fresh start for real conversations, fewer distractions, and living in the moment, even if the moments are heartbreakingly difficult.”

The lesson in Friedland’s book is supposed to be that disconnecting from your phone/social media/email doesn’t mean you’ve disconnected from life.

With the way my job works, I feel like I forget this lesson more often than not. I actually carry two smartphones–One for work and my personal phone. And I feel like I can never just leave the work phone behind. What if something happens? What if the email gets sent to only me and no one else and I have no way to forward it to someone in the office? What if my boss calls to ask that question he forgot to ask earlier and my phone isn’t in sight?

The thought of leaving my phone in my purse or out of sight for a 45 minute spinning class at my local gym can sometimes be harder than the actual class.

But lately, with longer days at work which are filled with more and more stress, disconnecting when I come home has been a blessing. I turn my work phone on silent and leave it be.

I’m only paid to work a certain number of hours a day, so I should only focus on work that much. Or so I tell myself.

I can’t help feeling like Friedland is onto something with this book. There’s nothing wrong with having a face-to-face conversation with someone. But some people have completely lost the ability to do so because they don’t practice it often.

Friedland’s book only has a 3.3 average rating on Goodreads, but I feel like this could be the read I need to disconnect my brain from more serious subject matter and reset. Just like Evie.

Leave a Reply

