Monday Must-Read: Cold Mountain

My Monday must-read this week is Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier.

Cold Mountain focuses on the journey of Inman and Ava, a couple who were separated by the Civil War. After the war, Inman journeys back to Ava, who is trying to get her father’s farm going again.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

Ava is getting help from Ruby, who she has taken in.

I read this book a long time ago, but I really enjoyed Frazier’s writing style, with one exception. The version of the book I had did not have traditional paragraph breaks. There were em-dashes (–) before each new paragraph. This is a pet peeve of mine and I have a lot of trouble reading books with this as a way of deviating paragraphs.

But Frazier wrote very beautifully about the mountains and landscapes and is very descriptive.

The plot can get a bit lost in those descriptions, but it’s worth it. The movie version of this is also very well done. (Starring Renee Zellweger, Nicole Kidman and Jude Law)

I really enjoyed this read, but I haven’t picked up anything else from Frazier since. I may rethink that in the future as I’m reminded of the beauty of this book.

Now if I could just get it with normal paragraph indentations….

Leave a Reply

