Wednesday Wanna-Read: A House in the Sky

My Wednesday wanna-read this week is a little bit outside of my normal reading realm, however, I am excited to read it.

A House in the Sky is by Amanda Lindhout and Sara Corbett. This memoir is focused on Lindhout’s experience as a hostage in Somalia.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

Lindhout worked as a television reporter in Iraq and Afghanistan before traveling to Somalia in August 2008, according to the Goodreads summary. On her fourth day in “the most dangerous place in the world,” Lindhout was kidnapped and held hostage for 460 days. Lindhout converts to Islam, is given ‘wife lessons’ from a captor and endures a variety of experiences that can only be imagined by someone who has not experienced them.

From the Goodreads summary: “Moved between a series of abandoned houses in the desert, she survives on memory—every lush detail of the world she experienced in her life before captivity—and on strategy, fortitude, and hope. When she is most desperate, she visits a house in the sky, high above the woman kept in chains, in the dark, being tortured.

As someone who works in the media, I can’t imagine what Lindhout went through. There was a reason I never wanted to be an international correspondent, and her experience pretty much summed up why I didn’t.

I saw this book as I was walking through a Target and read the book cover. I knew I wanted to read this book and asked my parents for a copy. I got it for Christmas.

I’m so excited to be able to read this book and become inspired by Lindhout’s bravery in the face of the unimaginable. I’m not sure I would have been able to endure in the way she did.

Leave a Reply

