Wednesday Wanna-Read: A Hundred Summers

My Wednesday wanna-read this week is A Hundred Summers by Beatriz Williams.

Although, I have to say as an aside, I would settle for one summer at this point. It hasn’t felt much like summer where I live to date (as I type this on a gray, cloudy day with temperatures in the low 70s.)

But back to my Wednesday wanna-read.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

The Goodreads summary describes the plot of A Hundred Summers like this: “New York socialite Lily Dane has just returned with her family to the idyllic oceanfront community of Seaview, Rhode Island, expecting another placid summer season among the familiar traditions and friendships that sustained her after heartbreak. That is, until Greenwalds decide to take up residence in Seaview.”

Set in the late 1930s, Lily’s ex-best friend and ex-fiance, who are now married to each other, move in. This is at a time when gossip and social standing in the eyes of others obviously meant a lot more than it does in most cases now.

Eventually, the summary would lead me to believe, Lily and her ex-fiance rekindle their romance, which is sure to create some waves.

This sounds like a fun summer read to me. I’ve actually seen it on several beach read/summer reading lists as one to pack during vacation season.

I won’t necessarily go that far, but I hope to read it. Maybe in mid-winter when I’m wishing desperately for sunshine… (And that wish could easily be applied in the month of July. Haven’t seen the sun for a prolonged period of time in days.)

With an average rating on Goodreads of more than 3.8 stars, this book will hopefully earn a rave review from me.

3 thoughts on “Wednesday Wanna-Read: A Hundred Summers

Leave a Reply

