Recent Read: Outlander

I finally finished a book!!!

OK, so this was the second book I’ve finished recently, but Outlander took me forever to read.

That may be in part because it is a behemoth to read (600+ pages depending on the version, possibly more than 800+). It may be in part because I ran out of time on my e-book rental, had to wait to get it back on hold, and then had to wait for a physical copy to actually finish the book.

Seriously, if you plan on reading Outlander, budget time to read it.

From the Goodreads page

From the Goodreads page

This post is in lieu of a Monday must-read this week because it’s actually an update to a previous Monday must-read post: https://booksbybethany.wordpress.com/2015/06/22/monday-must-read-outlander/

Like I wrote in that original post, which I’m sure you will all click on and read, the premise of this book and the length of it were a bit intimidating to me. But, in an effort to read the book before I attempted to watch the series on Starz, I decided to try it.

I’m so glad I did.

Diana Gabaldon creates an entire world in the pages of her book and it’s so engaging, you want to just dive in and become a part of it.

Claire and Jamie are dynamic, complex characters who are grappling with their feelings and a circumstance neither could imagine. I had been concerned how Gabaldon would address Claire traveling through time and disclosing that to Jamie, which she obviously would have to do at some point. But it was handled well and organically.

I also thought the concept of there being others who time traveled was interesting too.

I did have some lingering questions, like how does time move in “her world?” Like has it stopped, gone slower than it is in the 1740s or moved like normal? If she goes back at some point, how will Frank react? How did he address her disappearance?

I’m actually going to try and read the second book in the series, Dragonfly in Amber, at some point in the future. I can’t read it right away as I have too many other books that have to take priority. (#bookloverproblem)

In the meantime, I may try and rent the first season of the show from the library to give it the old college try, too. (Despite the fact that the Claire from the show is not how I pictured Claire in the book… at least in photos.)

Have you read Outlander? Seen the show? Is the rest of the book series or the TV series worth my time? Let me know what you think in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Recent Read: Outlander

  1. I’ve read all the books and seen the show. Be careful when you start book 2! It feels like it skips ahead, but have faith – there is extensive flashing back. You’ll not miss a bit, by the end of the book. It’s a fantastic ride all around. I, too, didn’t picture Claire like Caitriona Balfe (the actress in the show), but she’s grown into the character nicely.

    Like

    • Thanks! That’s good to know! I think a huge flash-forward with flashing back could have led me to give up on the second book without warning!

      I’m glad Ms. Balfe is growing into the character, those situations always make me happy!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think there are 7 or 8 books now and I read the first 3. Thereafter I lost interest because the author is so wordy. I mean extraneous details like how she stirs her cocoa and how he adds another lump of sugar. Also, it took 150 pages to cover the first day of action in book 3 and much of it was irrelevant to building the story. I hate to criticize her because she is a great writer, but given to too much verbiage. As for the mini-series. Loved it until the second to last episode which was absolutely horrible. I’m sure it wasn’t in the book and only added for shock value.

    Like

    • Thanks for your feedback! There is a time and place for wordiness and sometimes it just gets to be too much. We’ll see how I feel about it when I get to that point!!
      As for the mini-series, I had seen similar rumblings online. I’ve been known to give up on series midway and just read the recaps of episodes online to follow certain plotlines through to their end (*cough* Homeland *cough*), so that may be what I do here.

      Like

Leave a Reply

