Recent Read: Sea Change

I finally finished a book!!!!!!

It’s been more than a month since I finished a book and I’m so excited to finally have time to finish one. Real life can get complicated.

I finally finished Karen White’s Sea Change. I had started the book in mid-May.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

I have to say, despite the length of time it took me to read, I really enjoyed this book. Sea Change focuses on female characters: Ava, Adrienne, Gloria, Pamela and Georgina.

Ava is a newlywed, married to Matthew, who was widowed by Adrienne. Ava and Adrienne have many similarities and when Adrienne’s family begins to ring alarms about Matthew, Ava becomes cautious.

Ava, in an effort to learn more about and confront her past, begins to feel a connection with Pamela, a woman who is a distant relative of Matthew’s and lived in the house the couple is residing in.

Pamela lived during the early 19th century and was thought to have run away with the British following the war of 1812. Georgina is Pamela’s sister, jealous after Pamela married the man she loved.

Gloria is Ava’s mom, who has some secrets of her own.

The interweaving of the stories is done marvelously. It was so fluid. I really felt immersed in this book when I was reading it and felt the world around me fade away. It was as if I was on St. Simons Island myself, seeing these characters through White’s eyes.

This is a great summer beach read. It is deep and thoughtful, without being too deep and mind consuming. It is lyrical and beautiful, but still easy to read and enjoy.

I have to admit I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. When I read the synopsis, it sounded like the kind of generational family story my mom would really enjoy (Sorry Mom!) and that I wouldn’t really like at this point in my life. But the hint of mystery and suspense that White kept throughout held me inside the book.

I liked this book so much, that midway through it, I decided to look at some of White’s other works. I added Learning to Breathe to my to-read list on Goodreads (which now sits at 200 books…. whoopsie!).

I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a fun, enjoyable book to read while soaking up some sun this summer!

Leave a Reply

