Monday Must-Read: Outlander

In an attempt at full disclosure, I have not yet finished my Monday must-read this week, so my opinion could change.

If you’ve heard about Outlander by Diana Gabaldon in the last few months, that is likely because of the recent incarnation as a television series on Starz.

From the Goodreads page

From the Goodreads page

Outlander was first published in 1991 and from what I’ve read so far, which is about half the book, there have been equal parts romance, historical fiction and fantasy.

On reading the premise on Goodreads, I wasn’t entirely sure how I would feel about the book.

Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.

It sounds a little much.

But Gabaldon’s writing is captivating and engaging. She keeps you wanting to turn the page. (At least so far.)

The chemistry between Claire and Jamie, the Englishman turned Scot who’s running from the law that Claire is forced to marry, leaps off the page.

This book is probably more romance than anything else, but I’m really enjoying it.

A word to the wise, however, there is a lot of Scottish dialect in the dialogue scenes, so you either have to get used to it or read over it. (I choose to do the latter.)

I also have to apologize that I haven’t had a recent read post in a while. I’ve had several circumstances come up in the last few weeks to keep me from being able to read as quickly as I would like. I am currently in the midst of reading 2 books and will likely have quite a few posts soon!

2 thoughts on “Monday Must-Read: Outlander

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Wanna-Read: Summer Reading List | BiblioFiles

  2. Pingback: Recent Read: Outlander | BiblioFiles

Leave a Reply

