Wednesday Wanna-Read: Modern Romance

My Wednesday wanna-read this week is a brand new release. (It came out Tuesday!)

Aziz Ansari is best known as a comic and has been on shows like Parks and Recreation. But in Modern Romance, he teams up with New York University sociologist Eric Klinenberg to examine how we embark on the search for love in modern times.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

The result is a book that is humorous and informative, if you believe the Goodreads biography.

Ansari and Klinenberg “designed a massive research project, including hundreds of interviews and focus groups conducted everywhere from Tokyo to Buenos Aires to Wichita. They analyzed behavioral data and surveys and created their own online research forum on Reddit, which drew thousands of messages. They enlisted the world’s leading social scientists, including Andrew Cherlin, Eli Finkel, Helen Fisher, Sheena Iyengar, Barry Schwartz, Sherry Turkle, and Robb Willer. The result is unlike any social science or humor book we’ve seen before,” according to the Goodreads page.

Sounds legit enough to me.

I find Ansari funny, most of the time, especially when he does comedy about romance and the overanalysis that occurs on a regular basis related to it.

From Goodreads: “The transformation of our romantic lives can’t be explained by technology alone. In a short period of time, the whole culture of finding love has changed dramatically. A few decades ago, people would find a decent person who lived in their neighborhood. Their families would meet and, after deciding neither party seemed like a murderer, they would get married and soon have a kid, all by the time they were twenty-four. Today, people marry later than ever and spend years of their lives on a quest to find the perfect person, a soul mate.

As a woman in her mid-20s who is single, while most of, if not all, of her close friends are in relationships of varying degrees of seriousness, I wildly identify with the premise of this book.

I reserved Modern Romance from my library a while back and I should be getting a copy in the coming days. I can’t wait to read the insight into the quest to find love and happiness through it, and maybe, just maybe get some idea as to why I could be as frustrated as I am on that adventure at present.

For me, I feel like I should base whether I’m interested in someone on more than what their profile looks like and only have the option to swipe in one of two directions. I’ve tried online dating, but the challenge is you never know if it’s a real thing or if you’re being catfished. And the prospect of meeting someone just feels like an episode of Law and Order: SVU waiting to happen. It’s frustrating when you’re trying to do things the right way with no success.

(Equally frustrating is when your friends who are no longer single telling me to just keep trying. It’s always so easy to say that when you’re on the other side of it…)

I’m hoping I really enjoy Ansari’s book. I’ll keep you posted!

One thought on “Wednesday Wanna-Read: Modern Romance

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Wanna-Read: Summer Reading List | BiblioFiles

Leave a Reply

