Wednesday Wanna-Read: The Sandcastle Girls

My Wednesday wanna-read this week is The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

I’ve read three other books by Bohjalian in the past: Strangers at the Feast, The Light in the Ruins and Secrets of Eden.

After reading those, I decided to purchase The Sandcastle Girls, which sounded like it could be really interesting. It is currently sitting atop my Goodreads “To-read” list, but I haven’t yet gotten to it.

Another reason I bought the book was its cover. I know you’re not supposed to judge a book, yada yada yada, but the cover is beautiful.

The Sandcastle Girls has been called Bohjalian’s most personal novel because it deals with his own heritage as Armenian.

It also deals with an era that is often overlooked in modern literature: World War I. I suppose the “war to end all wars” was overshadowed by its surlier big brother.

World War I is a really interesting era to write about. Europe looked nothing like what it does now, or even what it did at the outset of World War II. There were still archdukes and empires and the entire world was on the cusp of an era of prosperity.

Bohjalian sets the book in Syria in the early days of the war and in New York in the present. Elizabeth Endicott, a nurse at the start of the first World War in Syria, befriends a young Armenian man. Laura Petrosian, who lives in New York in the present day, is drawn into Elizabeth’s story through a photo from an old newspaper and a family connection.

That photo reveals “love, loss—and a wrenching secret that has been buried for generations,” according to the Goodreads summary.

With an average rating of 3.84 stars, this books seems like the type I would enjoy reading and will transport me to another place and time.

Leave a Reply

