Recent Read: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

My most recent read came about as the result of a desire to read something funny. I needed a laugh and I thought a funny book would help me along.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me by Mindy Kaling was just the ticket.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

Disclaimer: I have not seen a lot of Kaling’s work. I’ve watched No Strings Attached, which she has a small role in. I’ve seen bits and pieces of episodes of The Office. But that’s about it.

So, really, I knew nothing about Kaling when I picked up her book. I knew she was supposed to be funny, and she was on The Office, but that ended my knowledge. I also thought that by picking up the “funny” book of a person I didn’t know much about, I wouldn’t end up disliking them if I didn’t like the book. (I guess I was scared I wouldn’t like Bossypants and judge everything Tina Fey is on/has done accordingly.)

I think I will be checking her show out now. Her humor is my type of humor. I really enjoyed her book and found myself laughing at many of the essays.

I especially enjoyed her descriptions of how she talks about one-night stands and hooking up. I’m with Mindy–how can you listen to a friend talk about a one-night stand and not ask them questions about why they weren’t concerned for their safety?

I was actually sorry to see this book end, but then I got really excited when I saw she’s putting together a sequel for publication later this year. I can’t wait to read it!

In all seriousness, if you’re in need of a pick-me-up or something to laugh to, this book is just right.

This book also got me excited to read other books by funny ladies like Tina Fey and Amy Poehler. Bring on the laughs!

2 thoughts on “Recent Read: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

Leave a Reply

