Monday Must-Read: Geno

One thing you may not know about me is that I’m a huge women’s basketball fan. To be more specific, I’m a UCONN fan.

Since I was in middle school and junior high, I’ve been a die-hard fan. I watch every game that’s on TV. I’ve gone to see them in person when they play in the NCAA tournament near where I live. I follow their recruiting classes and their graduates into the pros.

In my bedroom at my parents’ house, I have framed photos of several players and a poster from when the men’s and women’s programs both won the championship in 2004.

Knowing all this, and in honor of their appearance tomorrow night in the national championship game for the third straight year, my Monday must-read this week is by the leader himself, Geno Auriemma.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

Geno: In Pursuit of Perfectoin is a look through Geno Auriemma’s eyes at his program that he built from the ground up… almost literally.

The book was published in 2006, before the Maya Moore and Breanna Stewart eras that have made them extra dominant. He wrote the book after the first megastar that went through the program, Diana Taurasi, had graduated.

He talked in the book about recruiting wars for the top players with Tennessee and Pat Summitt. He talked about how he pushes his players to succeed in practice, in games, in the classroom and in life.

He isn’t one to settle for just being OK. He wants to be as great as can possibly be achieved with the talent he has. And he usually succeeds.

This is a good read for basketball fans in general, even if you don’t like UCONN.

Go Huskies!

Leave a Reply

