Wednesday Wanna-Read: The Sound of Music Story

The hills are alive…. with the sound of nothing because I’m curled up somewhere with a good book.

My Wednesday wanna-read this week is The Sound of Music Story by Tom Santopietro. (This is what prompted my opening line. The Hills are Alive… Sound of Music… get it? OK I’ll stop being witty now.)

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

I love the Sound of Music. I don’t remember the first time I watched it, but it definitely wasn’t the last. I own the movie on DVD and when it’s on TV, I usually stop to watch at least a few minutes. When I was younger, my family went to see the Von Trapp relatives who perform on tour. I still remember the Edelweiss singalong.

With the 50th anniversary of the movie’s release being this year, I’ve been thoroughly enjoying the specials on TV and the articles being written about Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer and the movie.

(Disclaimer: I love Julie Andrews. She is amazing and I would love to meet her someday.)

I recently watched a special Diane Sawyer did on 20/20 in which Julie Andrews talked about the movie and went back to some of the iconic places in the movie. It’s a journey I would someday like to take. Salzburg has capitalized on its fame and my understanding is there is a tour you can take to famous landmarks from the movie. (It may or may not be on my bucket list…)

Given all that, it should be not even a little bit of a surprise that I picked Santopietro’s book to add to my must-read list. On Goodreads, the book is described as having “all the inside dope from behind the scenes stories of the filming in Austria and Hollywood to new interviews with Johannes von Trapp and others.”

I found this book while browsing book articles on USA Today’s website. It immediately struck my fancy. The Goodreads summary says there was a chance the movie may have been canceled because of the expenses related to Cleopatra.

Can you imagine a world without The Sound of Music in it? I don’t think I even want to think about that.

I can’t wait to read Santopietro’s book. Hopefully, it will become one of my favorite things.

(I really will stop trying to be witty at some point…)

Leave a Reply

