Wednesday Wanna-Read: Homicide

My Wednesday wanna-read is a bit on the morbid side, but it’s a book I’m really looking forward to reading it.

David Simon is one of the people who helped to write and create The Wire, a television show that I’ve never seen but have been told more than once that I will enjoy.

Simon was a reporter in Baltimore and was one of the first to gain unprecendented access. He was given essentially carte blanche inside access to the city police department’s homicide unit. For an entire year.

That sort of thing is virtually unheard of between reporters and police departments in this day and age.

Simon’s book, Homicide: A Year on the Killing Streets, was originally published in 1991 and was republished in 2006 with a new introduction and some new photographs.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

I’m fascinated by how murder cases are investigated. I watch television shows like The First 48 every time I get a chance. Fictionalized shows like Law and Order or NCIS are also fun for me to watch.

So after I stumbled across this book while looking at the non-fiction shelves in a bookstore, it was a no-brainer that it would be on my must-read list.

After having it on birthday and Christmas lists for two years, I finally got a copy of it. I gave it a revered spot on the bookshelf. I sometimes will take it off the shelf and flip through it, get the new book smell and then put it back.

I hope to get this book read by the end of the year. (I also hope to watch The Wire in the next year or so too…. even if it isn’t on Netflix.)

One thought on “Wednesday Wanna-Read: Homicide

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Wanna-Read: The Corner | BiblioFiles

Leave a Reply

