Monday Must-Read: Tiny Beautiful Things

I’m breaking a bit from tradition this week with my Monday must-read. I haven’t actually read it yet, but I’m considering it a must-read and plan on reading it sooner rather than later.

Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed is pretty much listed on every book list for people going through a quarter-life crisis.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

I’m not entirely sure that’s what I’m going through right now, but it seems to fit pretty darn close. It seems like since I’ve moved into my mid-20s, the stress in my life has gotten exponentially greater. Worries at work lately have been at an all-time high, but I think those waters may be calming–at least temporarily.

Never fear though, the worries about finances are creeping back in. I’m one of those people who tends to see the big picture more than the small steps. So when I start thinking about more insurance money coming out of my paycheck and increased bills in other aspects of my life without a raise… it seems daunting. And I let it overwhelm me. Sometimes to the point of not being able to sleep, which then causes stress at work because I’m tired etc.

I know I’m not the only 20-something dealing with these sorts of issues. I think many of us are. We’re faced with the real world and are forced to be making big decisions about our lives, careers, finances and more that could affect us in the near and distant future.

I’ve been questioning my career plans for the future a lot lately. While I’m passionate about what I do and I love my job, I’m not sure it is a financially sustainable career. Especially since Prince Charming appears to have gotten just a teensy bit lost on his way to that point where we find each other.

Doing all the things I want to do (like buy a house and have kids) are a lot harder to do on a single salary. And when the salary shows no signs of growing, it makes one think about the prospect of apartment living forever. (I love my apartment but I would love the space to get a dog at some point.)

From everything I’ve read Strayed’s advice in Tiny, Beautiful Things is exactly what I need. I already own this book (I picked it up from a bookstore when I was in college but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet) and this may be the perfect time to open it.

Strayed has compiled her columns from “Dear Sugar,” her (at one point) anonymous online advice column, into this collection. Strayed is probably most known for her memoir “Wild” which recently was made into a movie starring Reese Witherspoon and received several Oscar nominations.

I think with all the thoughts dancing around in my head, and with an average Goodreads rating of more than 4 stars, Tiny, Beautiful Things is exactly the big thing I need in my life right now.

One thought on “Monday Must-Read: Tiny Beautiful Things

Leave a Reply

