Wednesday Wanna-Read: Quiet Dell

My Wednesday wanna-read this week is Quiet Dell by Jayne Anne Phillips.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

I recently got this book from my library, so hopefully it will end up as a recent read post in the near future.

Phillips based her novel on a true story. Set in a small West Virginia town during the Great Depression, Quiet Dell tells the story of a quadruple murder of a mother and her three young children. The accused is a man who had promised to help her out financially and marry her.

A reporter from Chicago follows the case and becomes obsessed with making sure the man responsible is held as such.

This really sounds like my type of book. The lines that sold me on the Goodreads page: “Driven by secrets of their own, the heroic characters in this magnificent tale will stop at nothing to ensure that Powers is convicted. A mesmerizing retelling of a harrowing crime, Quiet Dell is a tour de force of obsession and imagination.

Powers has a reputation as a powerful writer of mysteries for several decades. I’m sure this one will be no different.

The average Goodreads rating is above three stars as well, which tends to imply that the book is decent to the average reader.

I’ll be sure to let you know what I think of it after I finish it.

Leave a Reply

