Recent Read: Between the Lines

My most recent read was Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and her daughter, Samantha Van Leer. This book was recommended to me by a friend of my mom’s who reads the blog.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

I’d never read anything by Picoult before and hadn’t really planned to. From what I know of her books, they tend to be a bit more emotional and I don’t particularly like to cry while reading.

This book, however, was more whimsical. The premise is that the main character in a one-of-a-kind children’s book connects with a reader, literally. They can have conversations.

Oliver is trying to escape the book and enlists Delilah to help him out. The two of them develop a relationship and try everything they can think of to get Oliver off the page and into real life.

Finally, they track down the author of the original story and her son, whom Oliver was based on.

While the book posed an interesting premise of what happens to our favorite characters when the book is closed, there are a lot of questions I have unanswered about what happens. Like how does the author not realize that her son may not be exactly the same? What happens at that point?

I would be remiss if I didn’t admit that once or twice I’ve wished a book character was real. What person hasn’t? It’s also interesting to think about what goes on inside a book when the cover is closed. Is it possible that the characters exist inside their own book? Most likely, no. But it’s interesting to consider.

This book was a nice palate-cleansing type read. It didn’t take a ton of thinking and the intensity level was relatively low. It helped me get set for my next few reads.

Leave a Reply

