Wednesday Wanna-Read: Live from New York

“Live from New York, it’s Saturday night!”

Those words have been linked to Saturday Night Live for 40 years and since I’ve been old enough to watch or want to watch the show, I try to stay up until at least Weekend Update is over.

I was a freshman in college during the 2008 presidential election and I really got into the show during the Tina Fey/Sarah Palin Amy Poehler/Hilary Clinton days.

I watched much of last weekend’s SNL reunion special and I really enjoy the show overall.

Which is why my Wednesday wanna-read this week is Live from New York: An uncensored history of Saturday Night Live by James Miller and Tom Shales.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

The book was first published in 2002 and then was rereleased with additional information in 2014. I’m sure there are some great stories in here about the goings-on in Studio 8H.

And Miller and Shales aren’t just any writers. These two wrote the book on the history of ESPN a few years back as well.

Live from New York has above a 4 star average rating on Goodreads, so you know it has to be pretty good. I’m excited to read this and learn more about the history of the show.

Leave a Reply

