Monday Must-Read: The Cuckoo’s Calling

My Monday must-read this week is a mystery I would likely have never picked up on my own.

Robert Galbraith is just another dime a dozen mystery writers, or so I thought. But, in a twist that is almost as big any mystery could provide…. Galbraith is none other than J.K. Rowling. The woman who wrote Harry Potter.

And so, I gladly picked up a copy of The Cuckoo’s Calling as soon as I was able to find one (because of course they instantly sold out. Everywhere.)

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

I’m really glad I did.

The book focuses on Comoran Strike, a private detective who is asked to determine who killed a young socialite. Strike is assisted by Robin, his new secretary/wanna-be detective.

In true mystery style, there are twists and turns. And the end one is a doozy in this particular case.

I really enjoyed the book. Much more so than I had enjoyed The Casual Vacancy.

There is a second book in the Strike series, The Silkworm. However, I feel like the better of the two is likely Cuckoo’s Calling. I think Rowling wrote it with no pressure on her. Coming off Harry Potter’s success, everyone would expect her to write a brilliant book and brilliant pieces. I think that pressure may force a plot that may not be there. But a pseudonym and no pressure, you can write freely.

I would highly recommend Cuckoo’s Calling as a must-read mystery for amateur detectives of all ages.

One thought on “Monday Must-Read: The Cuckoo’s Calling

Leave a Reply

