Wednesday Wanna-Read: The Paris Wife

My Wednesday wanna-read this week is a book that has been patiently sitting on my bookshelf for more than a year. And I’m determined to read it this year.

The Paris Wife by Paula McLain combines several of my favorite things together into one novel, which I think means I will love if for no other reason than my favorite things are combined in a book.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

McLain writes about Hadley Richardson, one of the women Ernest Hemingway married. According to the Goodreads summary, Hadley and Hemingway have a fast courtship and wedding before setting off for Paris and the circle of writers known to gather there.

A heartbreaking portrayal of love and torn loyalty, The Paris Wife is all the more poignant because we know that, in the end, Hemingway wrote that he would rather have died than fallen in love with anyone but Hadley,” the summary reads.

I love reading love stories. I enjoy reading Hemingway. I enjoy novels with strong female characters, even if they are flawed.

McLain’s book appears to have all three.

The book was a Goodreads choice for historical fiction in 2011, but didn’t win any major accolades. Nonetheless, I’m excited to read it.

Leave a Reply

