Wednesday Wanna-Read: Gangster Squad

My Wednesday wanna-read this week is a book that I have already seen the movie which is based on it.

Yes, I know, such blasphemy and all that stuff. I watched the movie before I read the book. I hardly ever do that. But the movie was available at the local library and I was in need of some quality Ryan Gosling time.

That’s forgivable, right?

The movie and book I’m talking about is Gangster Squad, a non-fiction account of the war law enforcement waged on Los Angeles gangsters after World War II.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

Paul Lieberman’s book inspired the movie, starring Nick Nolte, Josh Brolin, Gosling, Sean Penn and Emma Stone.

I’m hoping the book is intriguing.

While I’m operating under the assumption that the movie took some liberties with the facts in the book, it seems like an intriguing concept. Mickey Cohen is supposed to be one of the most notorious gangsters at the time in LA. The squad of eight guys, the “gangster squad,” try to take him down for murder.

According to the Goodreads summary, at least one member of the squad teams up with Cohen’s rival, another gangster, to try and take the bigger fish out of the pond.

The book doesn’t cover just one year and the squad’s operation didn’t either. Just as the feds sought John Dilinger and other bank robbers in the 1930s, it takes time to build a case and track these guys to the point where they can be caught.

Lieberman’s book intrigues me because I don’t know much about the western gangster history like I am the east coast/midwest. I think this book could supplement my history knowledge nicely.

And it gives me an excuse to watch a movie with Ryan Gosling in it again…

Leave a Reply

