2014: The Year That Was (in books)

Now that 2015 is officially here, I figured I would take a look back at the year that was 2014.

According to my Goodreads page, I read 36 books during the course of the year. I had hoped to read 50, so about a book a week. That didn’t happen.

In terms of pages, I read 14,786 pages. That averages out to about 41 pages a day.

Both of those numbers are down from 2013, in which I read more than 16,000 pages and 48 books.

While I didn’t meet my goal of 50 books, I did read some amazing books. And I decided to start this blog to share those books with others.

As I look ahead to 2015, I hope to read between 40 and 45 books. Ideally, that will be about 15,000 pages.

I encourage you to set a reading goal in 2015. I also encourage you, if you don’t already, to open a Goodreads account.

These free accounts, on Goodreads.com, help you keep track of your books. You can list books you’ve read before, books you hope to read and what you’re currently reading. You can also keep track of what books you own.

Recommendations are available and you can interact with friends and others with similar books interests. Giveaways provide early access to some books and lists created by readers help you get more suggestions.

Goodreads also tracks pages read and books read. You can link Amazon purchases to the account as well, so those books will go on your To-read list.

Currently, I have 137 books on my read list and 160 on my to-read list. I’m hoping that number gets a little more manageable this year.

I hope this year brings you amazing moments with books!

Leave a Reply

