Monday Must-Read: The Help

My Monday Must-Read is one of those books that is completely novel. You’ve never really read anything like it before.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett is about, as the title suggests, the help in homes in a well-to-do part of the south during the 1960s.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

The book alternates between the point of view of the help, specifically maids Aibileen and Minny, and Skeeter, a young woman who wants to write their story.

After the novel is published (in the novel), the various reactions are documented as well.

Stockett’s work was turned into a movie starring Viola Davis, Octavia Spencer and Emma Stone, among others. The novel is better, as is usually the case.

I really enjoyed reading this book. I read it during college after my mom suggested it to me. It was an easy read and a nice distraction from textbooks and academic reading.

Aibileen’s mantra to the small child she is charged with watching (You is kind, you is smart, you is important) was something I said to myself to give myself an emotional confidence booster from time to time. And, I may or may not still use it now.

Stockett won several awards for this novel, which is her first. She has not published anything since.

Leave a Reply

