Recent Read: The Divorce Papers

I recently finished The Divorce Papers by Susan Rieger.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

I was not very impressed with this book. Told in the form of documents (attorney memos and emails primarily), I could not get interested in this book.

Divorce is typically a good narrative. There’s naturally conflict and emotion and compelling story lines. This story wasn’t the case. It’s hard to get any interest out of characters who aren’t distracted. And with created legal documents and legal statutes, it was easy to skip around the book.

While there were some redeeming qualities, the wittiness of the main character and the diabolical nature of the woman scorned in particular, this book was overall not one I would recommend to most readers.

The book has not gotten many overwhelmingly positive reviews on Goodreads either, which should have been a warning sign to me. I almost didn’t finish the book, but alas, I’m one of those who nearly always has to complete what she begins.

If you enjoy an alternative story format, feel free to give this one a read and prove me wrong.

Leave a Reply

