Wednesday Wanna-Read: Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

I have a confession to make. I really like books about crime. Mystery novels, true crime books, “for dummies” books that can give me a good understanding of investigative processes.

I love them all. I read them regularly.

So, with that confession, it should come as no surprise that my Wednesday Wanna-Read this week falls into that category. The book: Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt.

Gardengoodevil

I vaguely remember when this book was a big thing in the early 2000s. I remember seeing people reading it and reading the title in pre-teen/early teenager brain and thinking it must be interesting if so many people are reading it.

Now, I’ve decided to read it for myself and figure out if it was worth all the attention it got following its 1999 release.

As a fan of narrative non-fiction and longform writing, I feel like this book is going to be right up my alley in just about every way. I currently have it loaned from my local library, so I will be reading it very soon. Basically, as soon as I finish a couple other books I have from the library that are due back first.

I’m excited to read about this murder mystery and come to my own conclusions based on the writing. I’m usually pretty good at solving these things early on. (I do read A LOT of mysteries and watch way too many crime shows.)

I’ll be sure to let you all know what I think of the book after I finish it!

Leave a Reply

