Recent Reads: The Children Act and The Girls from Corona Del Mar

Within the last week, I finished two decent books I thought I would share with you. The first is The Girls from Corona Del Mar by Rufi Thorpe.

From the Goodreads page

From the Goodreads page

The novel follows Mia and Lorrie Ann, two friend growing up in Corona del Mar, a small community in California. As they age, the two friends take drastically different paths in life, weaving in and out of each others in the process.

I identified with this book much more than I expected. As we go through life, friends come and go. The ones who are truly our friends stay with us, but the relationship is constantly evolving. And if we don’t accept that and allow it to happen, it pushes the friendship to fall apart.

Thorpe also begs readers to question how well we really know anyone, including the people we say we are closest to. Is there something else going on there that we don’t see? Are they being truthful or sugarcoating so they don’t disappoint us?

The last thing I will say about this book is it put words to a concept I had thought about but never been able to verbalize: Amor fati. Embrace one’s fate. Accepting what is going to happen is going to happen and we are powerless to stop it.

After I finished Girls, I picked up Ian McEwan’s newest novel, The Children Act.

From Goodreads page

From Goodreads page

I’d read some other stuff by McEwan in the past (Atonement, Sweet Tooth) so I wasn’t sure what to expect. Now that I’ve finished the book, I’m not sure what all I read.

The story centers on Fiona, a judge in a domestic court trying to rule on a case involving a nearly 18-year-old Jehovah’s Witness who is refusing the blood transfusion that could save his life.

After the ruling, the story follows Fiona through the repercussions of her ruling. It also focuses on the unraveling and putting back together of her home life.

It was an interesting read, but a bit dry for my taste. If you like McEwan, it’s about par for the course.

Leave a Reply

