Wednesday Wanna-Read: The Queen of the Tearling

My wanna-read book of the week (that I haven’t had time for yet) is an interesting one: The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johnasen.

The book is the first of what is scheduled to be three books and Emma Watson has reportedly signed on to be the lead in the movie adaptation.

From the GoodReads book page

From the GoodReads book page

This book hasn’t gotten the media acclaim or rave reviews that some series usually get (and boost my desire to read them), however, I’m intrigued. I love Emma Watson and I think her choice of roles post-Harry Potter has shown her to be a good judge of writing. She also likes powerful female characters, something I also enjoy in a good book.

The reviews on GoodReads have been pretty mixed, so I don’t know what to expect when I finally get down to reading this one. Hopefully, it’s a decent start to a trilogy that could build into something special.

The premise of the book is that a 19-year-old is brought to her kingdom to rule after being in exile for her entire childhood. Magic, danger and suspense all appear to have a role in this debut novel.

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Wanna-Read: The Queen of the Tearling

  1. This definitely sounds like an interesting book, especially since it sounds a little similar to what I am writing for NaNoWriMo! If I ever get the chance I’ll need to pick it up. (After I read the hundreds of unread books I own of course!)

    Like

    • That’s how it always goes isn’t it? You put the book on the list and then you add four more and you never get to them as quickly as you want. Too many books, too little time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

