Recent read: Night Film by Marisha Pessl

One of my most recent reads was a mystery by Marisha Pessl called Night Film. I didn’t know much about this book, but had picked it up at a retail store and found it curious. I borrowed it from my local library and couldn’t find enough time to read it! I wanted to read more quickly than I did but I never could. Pessl’s writing was so fast paced and energized. I loved it.

10112885(Image from GoodReads page for book)

I’m a huge mystery fan and try and solve the case, but this book kept me guessing in all the right ways. Every time I thought I had it figured out, a twist came from nowhere. The characters were multi-dimensional and were characters you could root for (or against as the case may be with some.)

Pessl’s writing was strong and visual. One particular example that sticks out in my mind is her description of a large purse as something carnivorous and said the bag ate anything that came its way.

This book was named one of the best of 2013 by several outlets, including NPR and Amazon (in the mystery category), and after reading, it’s clear to see why.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is fans of Gillian Flynn or a mystery fan in general.

(I’m not going to post every day, my goal is a couple times a week.)

Leave a Reply

